S.H.I.E.L.D. Maintains Momentum and Castle Flounders While Bones Proves How Very Dead It Remains

*** SPOILER ALERT!!! This post contains spoilers for Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 1, Castle Season 6 Episode 17 ‘In the Belly of the Beast,’ Bones Season 9 generally, and especially Episode 17 ‘The Repo Man in the Septic Tank,’ and Person of Interest Season 3.***

The blue alien!

The blue alien!

Well, it’s good to have some regular shows back for the last few weeks! I was happy to see that my prediction for Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. proved out, and Skye really is going to live (for now). I was especially tickled by the lovely little morsel we were handed at the end of the episode, when it was revealed that May is somehow a mole for the people behind T.A.H.I.T.I. (Boy, these acronyms sure are a pain to type.) Since the mystery of Skye’s origin was revealed, I have always had a very strong suspicion that May could be Skye’s mother– or at least she may have been the S.H.I.E.L.D. agent who dropped Skye off at the orphanage. This new development does not necessarily mean that my hunch is untrue, but it does leave me thinking about all the possible levels that could be going on. I’m sure you’re all wondering the same things: Who was May calling? Was it Agent Fury? (Does that mean Samuel L. Jackson will be on the show again at some point? Pretty please?) Or is May connected to the people who created T.A.H.I.T.I.? Plus, that blue alien in the tub… did anyone else think he looked a lot like one of the Frost Giants from the first Thor movie? Whatever the answers to these questions, I feel much more hopeful about the future of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and I hope we will get our answers.

Beckett (Stana Katic) being asked to go undercover.

Beckett (Stana Katic) being asked to go undercover.

Castle has also been puttering along, with an especially good episode last week to break the monotony of tiny Beckett insecurities that only last one episode and are always happily resolved. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still a Castle fan and not giving up on the show– but the fact that the writers have been struggling for ideas this year has been quite apparent. When Kate wound up suddenly undercover in the most heart pounding, nail-biting Castle episode since she was hanging off a building by her fingers, I was excited. I think that bringing the show back to the conspiracy behind Beckett’s mother’s murder is the best thing they could have done. Ultimately, it’s what invests us in the characters in the show– not solving the one-off murders every week. Plus, TV seems to love a corrupt politician these days, and I say, ‘Keep ’em coming!’ (But for all you nay-sayers who think this means that ultimately the wedding is off? Forget about it! Too obvious. Rick and Kate are getting married, just like Booth and Bones, and the show’s issues will focus on the many other conflicts offered by the situation that is modern marriage.)

Speaking of Bones… I was really sad to hear that the show has been renewed for another season, and I mean that in the best way possible. Poor David Boreanaz, Emily Deschanel, and all the other incredibly talented members of the cast who could be moving on with their careers! I mean, face it, the show is tired. It was starting to get tired two years ago, for goodness sake! Just think of Angela’s and Hodgins’ relationship story arc, and how they are now discussing having their SECOND CHILD. I’m begging the writers, don’t pull an X-Files on such a great show like Bones. Know when to renew, and when a great show has run its course. DON’T BEAT A DEAD HORSE. The show is so tired they’ve resorted to Latin stereotyping for the latest squintern. I mean, enough already!

New squintern Rudolfo Fuentes (Ignacio Serricchio) on Bones.

New squintern Rudolfo Fuentes (Ignacio Serricchio) on Bones.

However, Person of Interest really lifted my spirits this week. It is so much fun watching Amy Acker do her thing in that show, and I was very pleased when it

Shaw (Sarah Shahi) and Root (Amy Acker) in Person of Interest, the show you aren't watching but should be.

Shaw (Sarah Shahi) and Root (Amy Acker) in Person of Interest, the show you aren’t watching but should be.

became clear that she would be playing a more regular role this season. I have to admit, I was very late to the PoI party, and only started watching the show this year. But now that I am caught up, I dare say it may be the best show currently on television. I have no idea what’s going to happen next, the writing is phenomenal, and the acting is always spot on. Plus, Person of Interest has the biggest Heart I’ve seen in a while. Also, the show dares to ask philosophical questions that haven’t been touched since Battlestar Galactica went off the air. Not surprising, coming from Bad Robot creators of Lost.

I’m very much looking forward to Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.‘s return next week, and seeing what will happen when Samaritan comes online. Also, I’m not ashamed to admit I’ve been enjoying the final episodes of how i met your mother quite a bit, but I’ll write another post on that at some point. Meanwhile, I’ve been catching up with Scandal, based on some advice from friends– gotta say, I’m not too impressed so far. These things, my secret guilty pleasure show, and more in future posts!

Leave a Reply

